“Let’s Do Lunch” with Darius the Intern – Where’s the Proof?

Hello UAlbany Great Danes, missed you last week for lunch and I hope you missed me as well. This week will be the last of “Let’s Do Lunch” with Darius the Intern since my internship has come to an end. It’s been great and I’ll say my goodbyes on Wednesday for the last lunch time career-related advice.

When I return home and to my university everyone will ask how was your experience and what did you do. Of course I can tell them all these wonderful things that I did and experienced but where’s the proof in that. When you have a new opportunity or working on anything that enhances you as a persona and your skills, build a portfolio.

Since the beginning of my internship I have been taking notes and keeping track of the different task I completed that I felt would speak to my abilities. For example, if an employer asks “what creative ways can I deliver career-related advice?” I can refer them to the blogs that I have written this summer.

Don’t undermine what you have done in your different opportunities and experiences. Even if you organized files and created a new system; do a before and after picture and explanation. Basically the point is to have additional things that speak to what you can offer an employer, company or organization beyond your resume and cover letter.

A portfolio is a great tool but presentation is everything—it can be physical or electronic just make sure it looks professional. Physical portfolios can be much like reports you do for school in a folder with sheet protectors or bond together. Electronic portfolios are usually presented in the form of a website, blog or social media. BE CREATIVE. BE PROFESSIONAL. BE YOU.

Get started thinking about things you’ve done that could be presented in a portfolio and then get to work! Until next time stay tuned, keep up and “Let’s Do Lunch”.

Darius the Intern

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

