Yikes! Graduation is coming…

It’s that time of the year again; finals, projects, papers- the home stretch to summer. For seniors, however, it’s not just the homework that’s stressing you out, is it? It’s graduation. This is the end of your undergraduate career; and whether it’s grad school or getting a job, this is a monumental change that you are about to face. Are you ready?

Change is scary, exciting, and about fifteen other emotions. You may have a constant stream of questions running around in your head at the same time. What if I don’t find a job? What if no one wants to hire me? What if I’m not accepted into grad school? And possibly the worst: I still have no idea what I want to do. Change is scary, but the unknown is scarier.

First, start asking yourself some new questions. What are my career options limited to because of my major? Do I want to further my education or do I want to enter the work world? What would I hate doing? What would I do if I had nothing holding me back?

Second, come see us! Our career counselors would be happy to provide insight, guidance, and resources that could help in coming to this decision by May. Also, start attending events that are catered to this very issue! For example, today there will be a panel of recruiters talking about common mistakes new grads make in their job search. (See Poster for more details) Be on the lookout on our website www.albany.edu/career for upcoming career fairs, events, and job expos! Also, if it’s a job you seek we tweet about 10 jobs and internships a day: Monday- NYC internships, Tuesday- Albany Internships, Wednesday- NYC Jobs, Thursday- Albany Jobs.

Graduation is scary, but it’s not something you have to walk into blindly. Figure out what you’re looking for and stop trying to do it all on your own! We’d be happy to help!

This entry was posted in All majors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

